2013 Locco Awards


The Manufacturer & Business Association recently honored the winners of the Patrick R. Locco Scholarship Awards during a recognition ceremony on April 25 at the Association’s Conference Center in Erie.

Winners were: Matthew Washburn, Erie County Technical School; Carley Unger, Crawford County Career & Technical Center; Ashley Johnson, Mercer County Career Center; Stephanie Puckly, Corry Area Career & Technical Center; and Austin Walls, Central Career and Technical School.

A $1,000 scholarship has been awarded to winners to assist them in future academic endeavors. Awards also were presented to nominees during the event.

Nominees included: Todd Goss, Vitaliy Koblyuk, Jesse Bean and Anthony Visalle, of Erie County Technical School; Eric Brocious, Adam Riddle and Charlotte Roxberry, of Crawford County Career & Technical Center; Zachary Rushwin, of Mercer County Career Center; Garrett Shields, Justin Messenger, Evan Melnichak and Jeremy Palmer,
of Corry Area Career & Technical Center; and Joshua Bowersox and Onjane Goodwin, of Central Career and Technical School.

“We’re honored to recognize these students and their achievements in scholastic and technical skills acquisition, and to assist them in their future academic endeavors,” said John Cline, chairman of the Association’s Board of Governors and president and CEO of Sunburst Electronics and Bliley Technologies. “Technical education is vital to our regional manufacturers and the economic welfare of our community as a whole.”

The Locco Awards were created by the Association to recognize outstanding high school students who distinguish themselves in pursuit of technical and academic excellence. Students must apply and be nominated by a teacher to be considered. Each school narrows the nominees to their top five candidates. These students are then interviewed by local businesspeople who choose the winners.